Recognizing our Members

Dr. Elizabeth Travis, Associate Vice President for Women Faculty Programs, Mattie Allen Fair Professor in Cancer Research and Professor in the Departments of Experimental Radiation Oncology and Pulmonary Medicine at The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center, recently received the following recognitions:

Dr. Travis was spotlighted in Forbes' Texas Women Business Leaders feature. This issue, published June 16, 2014, highlighted women executives and business owners who are powering U.S. economic recovery. In the feature, Dr. Travis reinforces the business imperative to capitalize on the full talent pool; elaborates on why women are not finding their way to leadership roles in the academic medical community; and identifies solutions to breaking the glass ceiling.

Dr. Travis was elected a member of the Board of Directors of the Association for Women in Science effective May 2014. In this role, she will support AWIS' mission to champion the interests of women in science, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) across all disciplines and employment sectors. The AWIS Board of Directors provides oversight and guidance on the business of the association. AWIS Governing Board members are elected to their positions and represent the interests of AWIS members, partners, chapters and affiliate groups.


Kudos to WESH member Edith P. Mitchell, MD, FACP, who was recently inducted into the HBCU Hall of Fame for distinguished service to her country and Alma Mater, as well as achievements in her field of endeavor, Medicine. For more than 22 years, the Hall of Fame has celebrated inductees in the following fields: Arts & Entertainment, Athletics, Business and Industry, Community Service, Education, Faith and Theology, Government & Law, Medicine, Science and Lifetime Achievement. Congratulations Dr. Mitchell!


WESH Western Regional Rep and Board Member Kathleen Clem, MD, FACEP, Professor and Chair for the Department of Emergency Medicine at Loma Linda University was awarded The Society for Academic Emergency Medicine (SAEM) award for "Advancement of Women in Academic Emergency Medicine Award".  This award recognizes an SAEM member who has made significant national contributions to the advancement of women in academic emergency medicine. The nomination of both women and men who have contributed toward this goal are accepted.  Congratulations!


WESH President, Elizabeth Travis, Ph.D., FASTRO, associate vice president of Women Faculty Programs, is one of 13 distinguished inductees for The Greater Houston Women's Chamber of Commerce Hall of Fame. Dr. Travis was elected by the GHWCC board of directors and received the award at a gala on December 6, 2012.  The Greater Houston Women's Chamber of Commerce is a non-profit business organization of influential and diverse women and men dedicated to the advancement and empowerment of women through avenues of leadership, education, advocacy, and mentoring.

WESH Award for Excellence


This award is given to the person who best demonstrates excellence in his/her commitment to the advancement and promotion of women in academic health professions.

Criteria: This award is given to senior administrators for excellence in enhancing the careers of women faculty.  The following criteria should guide your nomination:

  • Senior administrators are individuals who are at least a dean or equivalent position in an AHC, national leaders in non-traditional positions and/or philanthropists, etc.
  • Demonstrates personal commitment to the advancement and promotion of women to executive positions in academic health professions
  • Actively participates in programs or activities at a local (institutional) and/or national level.  Such activities could include: public speaking, articles/ publications, developing programs, encouraging the development of programs at his/her institution or nationally, etc.
  • Actively mentors women faculty; encourages and supports their advancement
  • Serves as a role model for other administrators



Award for Excellence Reception: Congratulations to the 2011 recipient of the Award for Excellence, Nancy J. Tarbell, MD.  Dr. Tarbell is the Dean for Academic and Clinical Affairs at Harvard Medical School.  


Past Recipients:

  • 2000 AAMC: Layton S. McCurdy, MD, Dean, Medical University of South Carolina College of Medicine
  • 2001 AAMC: John D. Stobo, MD, President, University of Texas Medical Branch
  • 2002 ADEA: Jeanne C. Sinkford, DDS, PhD, Associate Executive Director, ADEA; Dean Emerita, Howard University College of Dentistry
  • 2002 AAMC: Janet Bickel, MA, Associate Vice President and Director, Women in Medicine Programs, AAMC
  • 2003 AAMC: Nancy E. Gary, MD, MACP, Dean Emerita, Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences F. Edward Hébert School of Medicine; former Dean, Albany Medical College
  • 2004 ADEA: Sharon P. Turner, DDS, JD, Dean, University of Kentucky College of Dentistry; former Dean, Oregon Health & Science University School of Dentistry 
  • 2004 AAMC: Peter Walker, MD, Dean, University of Ottawa Faculty of Medicine
  • 2005 ADEA: J. Bernard Machen, DDS, MS, PhD, President, University of Florida; former President, University of Utah; former Provost, University of Michigan
  • 2005 AAMC: Page S. Morahan, PhD, Founding Director, ELAM Program, Drexel University College of Medicine
  • 2006 ADEA: D. Walter Cohen, DDS, Founder, ELAM Program, and Chancellor Emeritus, Drexel University College of Medicine
  • 2006 AAMC: Allen S. Lichter, M.D.,  Former Dean at the University of Michigan Medical School and Newman Family Professor of Radiation Oncology
  • 2007 ADEA: Marcia Boyd, DDS, Former Dean and Professor Emerita of the Faculty of Dentistry at the University of British Columbia
  • 2007 AAMC:  Margaret L. Kripke, Ph.D. , Special Assistant to the Provost Professor of Immunology Vivian L. Smith Chair Emerita, The University of Texas M. D. Anderson Cancer Center
  • 2008 ADEA: Lisa A. Tedesco, Ph.D. Dean of the Graduate School and Vice Provost for Academic Affairs – Graduate Studies
  • 2009, AAMC: Dr. Carol P. Herbert, Dean, Schulich School of Medicine and Dentistry, at the University of Western Ontario
  • 2010, AAMC: Ann C. Bonham, PhD, Chief Scientific Officer at the Association of American Medical Colleges (AAMC)


Ann C. Bonham, PhD (AAMC) receives from Wendy W. Brown, MD at the 2010 WESH Award for Excellence for Promotion of Women in Academic Health Profession

WESH Institutional Members